Shanghai Symphony to launch “Isaac Stern violin competition”

Shanghai Symphony Orchestra announced launch of new competition for violin names with the prefix violin legend Isaac Stern.
Isaac is also well known among Chinese by documentary film “From Mao to Mozart” which won Oscar 1980.

Application Dread line: 31 January, 2016
Age: 18-32(at 14 August, 2016)
Final: 14 August to 2 September 2016 at Shanghai
Judge:David Stern(Sun of Isaac), Zakhar Bron, Maxim Vengerov, Vera Tsu, Zhenshan Wang and Lina Yu.
Prize: 100,000 USD

The press release notes there is two special award for this competition, one is “Isaac Stern Award” which will chosen by Long Yu(head of committee), Yoyo Ma and Stern family. And another one is “Best Chinese Work Performance — CPIC AWARD”, which will given to the performer who perform the pieces of Chinese composer.

Details will be announced at Competition official website


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *